Call us at : +91-9880362344

Religious Insight and Scientific Outlook

In the Rig Veda it repeatedly questions "Why and how that though the Sun is not bound and is directed downwards, it does not fall?" This question was in fact asked by Sir Isaac Newton more than three or four thousand years later.

Although whenever we talk on gravity, it is Isaac Newton who comes to modern mind, but when we travel a little back to our Surya Siddhantha dated back to over 1700 years or around 400 AD, BhaskarAcharya describes it as "objects fall in the earth to one force. The Earth, planets, constellations, moon and sun are held in orbit because of that one force.

“Seven horses are drawing the chariot of Sun God or Surya” Rig Veda 5.45.9

These Seven horses are nothing but Seven colours of the light. The Seven colours are visible in a Rainbow and one could see them when light passes through a prism.

An interesting passage relating to Rainbow and its Seven colours can be seen in the ancient Kurma Purana of Indian ethos. While describing BhuvanaKosa – the Matrix of the Universe, the Kurma Purana states as:


Evamesa Mahadevo Devadevah Pitamahah

Karoti Niyatam Kalam Kalatma Hyaisvari Tanuh

Tasya Ye Rasmayo Viprah Sarvalokapradipakah

Tesam Sresthah Punah Saptarasmayo Grahayonayah.


Meaning that


The Lord is supreme and is the God of Gods.

He controls Time and Time rests in Him.

He illumines the world with His brilliant hues.

Of these, Seven are most important and I bow to them.



The Lord is supreme and is the God of Gods. He controls Time and Time rests in Him. He illumines the world with His brilliant hues. Of these, Seven are most important and I bow to them.

The rays illumine the limitless worlds in the Universe.....

“The rays that compose His body, are Omnipresent, and illumine the limitless worlds in the Universe, and among them Seven are the best and the highest because they form the matrices of the Seven Planets” - Kurma Purana, Chapter 43, v.1-2).

This brings evidence that the substratum of the Universe consists of the Seven principal rays, which are the chief amongst the myriads of rays forming the body of the Universe and its Lord.

These rays represent the body of the Lord, which is identical with the Universe. It is endowed with the same powers and three qualities of the God viz., Omniscience Omnipotence and Omnipresence and functions of creation, maintenance and destruction to recreate.

In the Holy Bible (Genesis, IX, 13) it is said about the Rainbow: “I do set my bow in the cloud and it shall be for a token of a covenant between “Me and the Earth”. In the same chapter (IX, 16) it is further said: “And the bow shall be in the cloud: and I will look upon it that I may remember the everlasting covenant between God and every living creature of all flesh that is upon the earth”.

By the will of God the Rainbow becomes visible on the cloud and it is one of the most significant symbols for world because the Rainbow forms the covenant between God and Earth with all its contents.

The Rainbow is composed of these Seven rays and thus the Seven rays are at the bottom of the Lord of the Universe and the Universe itself with all its tangible and intangible contents.

The Holy Bible seems to indicate that God himself and the cosmos are composed of these seven rays.

It is for the common man to understand that these Seven rays are primeval formative forces of nature. The Seven rays by their combination and separations condense themselves into tangible forms. Now, through an illustrated example, we will understand how these rays become tangible.

On a blue sky when a patch of cloud appears, one can examine through a prism, we can see that the colour of the cloud is predominantly Orange. The visible cloud, therefore, is nothing but condensation of colour Orange of the Rainbow. In the same analogy, water also will show the same Orange colour.

Every tangible thing is made up of rays and radiation.....

The declaration in the Holy Bible gets a confirmation from the Kurma Purana making it possible to understand why the Rainbow is the covenant between God and Earth. Therefore, every tangible thing is made up of rays and radiation; it is created by rays, maintained by rays and ultimately destroyed by rays. All names and forms have their origin in the Seven rays of the Rainbow. The Rainbow, therefore, has the greatest significance for this mortal world.

It is said in the Upanishads that this world of Names and Forms may be compared to an inverted Aswatha i.e., a Banyan tree with the roots above and branches below. This statement seems to indicate that all Names and Forms have their origin in the Cosmic Light Ocean and that their roots are always being nourished by the cosmic light. As long as it is possible to receive the nourishment, it will be possible to exist. Once the roots get dry, the nourishment ceases; and the tangible thing goes out of its visible existence.

Scientific Outlook

The electromagnetic (EM) spectrum is the range of all types of EM radiation. Radiation is energy that travels and spreads out as it goes – the visible light that comes from a lamp in your house and the radio waves that come from radio station are two types of electromagnetic radiation. The other types of EM radiation that make up the electromagnetic spectrum are microwaves, infrared light, ultraviolet light, X-rays and gamma-rays. You know more about the electromagnetic spectrum than you may think. The description below lists where you might encounter each portion of the EM spectrum in your day-to-day life.

Radio: Your radio captures radio waves emitted by radio stations, bringing your favourite tunes. Radio waves are also emitted by stars and gases in space.

Microwave: Microwave radiation will cook your popcorn in just a few minutes, but is also used by astronomers to learn about the structure of nearby galaxies.

Infrared: Night vision goggles pick up the infrared light emitted by our skin and objects with heat. In space, infrared light helps us map the dust between stars.

Visible: Our eyes detect visible light. Fireflies, light bulbs, and stars all emit visible light.

Ultraviolet: Ultraviolet radiation is emitted by the Sun and is the reason skin tans and burns. "Hot" objects in space emit UV radiation as well.

X-ray: A dentist uses X-rays to image your teeth, and airport security uses them to see through your bag. Hot gases in the Universe also emit X-rays.

Gamma ray: Doctors use gamma-ray imaging to see inside your body. The biggest gamma-ray generator of all is the Universe.

The SEVEN RAYS of the Rainbow are present everywhere. Hence, the seven rays of the Rainbow are Omnipresent. But one cannot see these colours with naked eyes. The whole Universe with its mobile and immobile contents is enveloped in the SEVEN RAYS, but they move in a dimension with which our naked eyes are not in tune. When an equilateral and colourless glass, called the PRISM is held before the eyes, we can see the cosmic colours revealing themselves. The prism brings our vision in tune with the dimension in which the cosmic colours of the Rainbow move. Now, it is clear that if the world is seen carefully through a PRISM, it will be discovered that there is nothing in the world that is not enveloped in the Seven rays of the Rainbow.